On April 23rd, Toccoa Falls College held their Commencement ceremony for the graduating class of 2021.  Due to COVID restrictions, participants were only allowed to bring two guests while the ceremony was livestreamed for those watching at home. Instead of bringing in an outside speaker for commencement, the student body voted on a speaker from within the Faculty and Staff at TFC, and they chose Dr. Kenneth Turner, Professor of Old Testament and Biblical Languages. His heartwarming message can be viewed here.

In total, 170 students graduated from TFC this year, with 116 present at the Commencement ceremony. Out of our 170 graduates, 58 graduated with Latin Honors. Our largest class was from the Counseling Psychology Department, with 25 students graduating, followed by the Fetterman School of Nursing with 17 graduates.

TFC also awarded our first ever Master’s Degree in Organizational Leadership this year. Emily Lackey received her MAOL, a program that she began this past Fall. An Honorary Doctor of Humane Letters was awarded to Dr. Deborah Alvater, founder of the Fetterman School of Nursing.

After cancelling last year’s commencement and moving the semester online, followed by a year of uncertainty through the pandemic, it was an incredibly joyful time to celebrate not only our graduating seniors, but a successful year on campus. We are so proud of this class for their resilience, and their commitment to finishing strong. Special congratulations is extended to the following students:

Cora Santor, Counseling Psychology Distinguished Graduate

Javen Bear, Communication Student of the Year

Madison Smith, Communication Student of the Year

Hannah Kise, English Student of the Year

Kathleen Terrell, Natural Sciences and Mathematics Student of the Year

Emma Zwemke, Bible and Theology Student of the Year

Lutitia Suggs, Association of Youth Ministry Educators Award

David Smith, Outdoor Leadership and Education Award

Scott Crabtree, Nursing Leadership Award

Luke Baham, Nursing Servanthood Award

Kimberly Gordon, Nursing Servanthood Award

Devon Burns, Nursing Student of the Year

Delana Smith, Business Student of the Year

Ariel Lee, Music Student of the Year

Sarah Weaver, Bobby Carter Memorial Teacher of the Year

Congratulations again to all of our 2021 graduates! Welcome to the alumni family!