, ,

TFC Faculty and Staff Recognized for Teaching Excellence, Service, Scholarly Work, and Impact

Every year, Toccoa Falls College celebrates the outstanding faculty and staff that contribute to the preparation of graduates both professionally and personally. TFC faculty and staff are experts in their field who are devoted to investing in their students. As another academic year comes to a close, all faculty and select staff members gathered for an event where several were honored by Vice President for Academic Affairs, Dr. Kieran Clements, and Student Government Association President, Emily Johnson.


Dr. Steven Petersheim | Vulcan Teaching Excellence Award 

Dr. Petersheim, Associate Professor of English is the 2023 recipient of the Vulcan Teaching Excellence Award. He has only served Toccoa Falls College for a little over a year, but his contagious enthusiasm and proactive creativity have already endeared him to his students. His exemplary competency within his discipline, his compassion for teaching students, and his commitment to Christ form the backbone of his excellence in teaching. In the classroom, Dr. Petersheim’s use of conversation-based learning helps students see the connections between ideas in literature and life, and challenges them to think more deeply about how they think about and live in the world. Dr. Petersheim’s compassion is reflected in his commitment to his students’ growth inside and outside of the classroom. In his excellent teaching evaluations, students praise him for being a joyful and caring presence in the classroom, even as they acknowledge being challenged by the rigor of his teaching. In addition to his work in the classroom, Dr. Petersheim has served the department and institution through several course designs and redevelopments, as well as the creation of a new writing program. His creativity and innovation have also been evident in the work he has done chairing the Honors Program Committee, which has resulted in an overhaul of the program. Outside of TFC, Dr. Petersheim is an active and engaged member of his local church.

Dr. Seth Heringer | Wade Distinguished Scholar Faculty Award   

Dr. Heringer, Professor of New Testament and Theology, is the 2023 recipient of the Wade Distinguished Scholar Faculty Award, which honors faculty who have demonstrated excellence in teaching and scholarship. Dr. Heringer is in his sixth year at TFC and has quickly established himself as a professor devoted to quality course design and the production of scholarly works. In recent years, he has combined these two passions by producing scholarship on teaching methodology. This work has given Dr. Heringer useful tools for evaluating and honing his own teaching skills, evidenced by improving student performance from year to year. It has also served him well in the development of several new courses. In his classes, Dr. Heringer receives consistently high student evaluations, and he is known for encouraging students to think deeply about their faith. Through challenging readings and engaging class discussions, he guides his students to see what theology lived out in real life looks like. According to students, he creates conceptual space that allows students to feel safe exploring and investigating the intersection of theology and real-world issues. All of this is enhanced through innovative assignments and dedicated feedback to students.  Dr. Heringer’s research into teaching methodology has led to publishing several articles and book chapters on the topic, as well as multiple paper presentations at significant professional conferences, such as the Society of Biblical Literature. Outside of his interest in pedagogy, he has contributed scholarship in the areas of New Testament theology and history.

Dr. Kenneth Turner | Faculty Scholar of the Year

Dr. Turner, Professor of Old Testament and Biblical Languages, is the 2023 Faculty Scholar of the Year for his devotion to publishing scholarly work. Recently, Dr. Turner, has been working on an Exegetical Commentary on the Old Testament: A Discourse Analysis of the Hebrew Bible for the book of Habakkuk. This text will be available for pre-order beginning July 5, 2023.

Dr. Richard Kronk | Faculty Service Award

Dr. Richard Kronk, Associate Professor of Global Engagement, was chosen directly by the Vice President for Academic Affairs to receive the 2023 Faculty Service Award. Over the past year, Dr. Kronk has served as the Interim Director for the Chapman School of Graduate Studies. He filled this role with service, sacrifice, grace, and excellence. He served his peers, the college, and students with admirable character and passion which makes this award well-deserved.


In addition to academic awards, the Student Government Association also selects faculty and staff who have impacted the student body tremendously over the past two semesters for their service, care, and commitment to students. The 2022-2023 Faculty and Staff of Impact were awarded to the following:

Lori Rose | Faculty of Impact
Dr. Seth Heringer | Faculty of Impact
Stephen Frady | Staff of Impact
Elizabeth Petersheim | Staff of Impact


Many congratulations to Dr. Petersheim, Dr. Heringer, Dr. Kronk, Dr. Turner, Professor Lori Rose, Elizabeth Petersheim and Stephen Frady, who embody the mission of TFC to develop character with intellect both inside the classroom and out.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.